Kenwood TS-2000 ATU compared with LDG Z100 for 5 MHz

TS2000_2012

I am using a British Army Racal made tactical dipole 2-30 MHz at my home QTH at a height of only 2m AGL! This aerial tunes on 80m-6m using the Auto ATU within my Kenwood TS-2000 however on the 5 MHz band the SWR is around 12:1 and the ATU will not cope.

In an effort to get my Kenwood TS-2000 onto 5 MHz, with its higher output power compared with my Elecraft KX-3, I tracked down my old LDG Z100 tuner from the garage which hasn’t been used for many years.

z100front

I needed to replace the internal AA batteries and was ready to go, the LDG Z100 tuner has now matched my dipole on 5 MHz with an SWR between 1:1 to 1:1.6 depending on channel.

Had my first Olivia 1000Hz/32 tone QSO today with G4HPE (Steve) in Cambridge 599/579 so very happy with that.

Still waiting to work Iceland on 5 MHz PSK31 after hearing TF3ARI (Ari) a few days ago and unable to get back to him running 5 W on my Elecraft KX-3, hence the need for the Kenwood TS-2000!

73 de Philip G0ISW

http://www.qsl.net/g0isw

This entry was posted in Amateur Radio and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Topic is closed for comments

